Congress for the New Urbanism 2024 Charter Awards

Wednesday, October 18th, 2023

The Congress for the New Urbanism’s 2024 Charter Awards are open for submissions through December 31, 2023. CNU's Charter Awards recognize outstanding achievements in architecture, landscape and urban design, and planning worldwide.

Applicants can submit a project on the CNU website at Project submissions are encouraged to reflect the Congress Focus for CNU 32, which will be Restorative Urbanism. This year's Focus aligns with the approach to city-building that our host city, Cincinnati, OH has embraced: restoring its existing neighborhoods and nodes and energy centers with more walkable mixed-use urban investment. However, any project that meets the general criteria established by the Charter will be considered. 

The Charter Awards recognize projects at three scales:

  • The Region: Metropolis, City, and Town
  • Neighborhood, District, and Corridor
  • Block, Street, and Building

Projects that encourage walkable mixed-use urbanism, embody a wide range of the Charter of the New Urbanism principles, and are currently built or being implemented are strongly encouraged to apply. Student projects are also encouraged to apply.

CNU has a limited number of need-based application scholarships available for the 2024 Charter Awards. If you are interested in submitting a project with scholarship support, please contact Lauren Mayer at

Submissions for the 2024 Charter Awards will be open until December 31, 2023. If you have any questions, please contact Lauren Mayer at