How Land-Grant Universities Can Enrich the Future of Communities

Wednesday, July 03rd, 2019
The Morrill Act of 1862, signed into law by President Abraham Lincoln, granted federal land to states to support the development of America's first public universities. Land-grant institutions that were created include such prominent ones as Cornell, Maryland, Michigan State, MIT, Ohio State, Penn State, Rutgers, Texas A&M, West Virginia University, Wisconsin, and the University of California, four dozen of America's largest and best public universities. Add to this historically black colleges and universities and tribal colleges, and the total comes to more than 110 institutions. Follow this link to read more. Sourced from: Governing